Patriotic Plane.jpg

EPCRW May Meeting

Date: May 17

Time: Social Time 5:30-6 p.m., Program 6:00 p.m.

Location: Valley Hi Pub and Grill, 610 S. Chelton, Colorado Springs, CO

Program: Greg Phillips, Director of Aviation, The Colorado Springs Airport,


With a lengthy history spanning more than eight decades, Colorado Springs Airport dates back to 1927, when it was operating with just two short runways, surfaced with compacted gravel. Passenger planes started operating here towards the end of the 1930s, with a large terminal following soon after and famed for its stylish Art Deco facade.

Following military use during the war years, Colorado Springs Airport (COS) began an expansion program, built a new passenger building in 1966, which has been extended a number of times since. By the 1990s, three lengthy runways were in place, one of which measured some 4,115 metres /13,500 feet, which still remains amongst the longest in the world.




EPCRW May Meeting

Subscribe for Updates

Thanks for submitting!

EPCRW 2022 Governor's Candidate Forum Video

To View the video from the EPCRW Sponsored Governor's Candidate Forum click the link here: